Pigmentary, Skin of Color and Dermatological Organizations

Working together towards change

The Skin of Color Society was established in 2004 by Susan C. Taylor, M.D. Its purpose is to promote awareness of, and excellence within, skin of color dermatology. The Society is committed to the education of health care providers and the general public on dermatologic health issues related to skin of color. The Society supports research and other activities that impact individuals with skin of color. Partnerships with dermatologists from the national and international communities, professional medical organizations, and community, corporate and industry groups will ensure our success in serving all individuals with skin of color. We invite you to join us in this important endeavor.

Headquartered in Rosemont, Illinois, the American Academy of Dermatology, founded in 1938, is the largest, most influential, and most representative of all dermatologic associations.

With a membership of more than 20,500 physicians worldwide, the AAD is committed to: advancing the diagnosis and medical, surgical, and cosmetic treatment of the skin, hair, and nails; advocating high standards in clinical practice, education, and research in dermatology; and supporting and enhancing patient care for a lifetime of healthier skin, hair, and nails.

The IFPCS is an international organization devoted to the study of various aspects of the pigment cells. It consists of four regional scientific societies (ASPCRESPCRJSPCR and PASPCR) and represents more than 1,000 scientists and experts in the field. Our mission is to improve the visibility and impact of pigment cell research through three principal means of communication and a recurring event:

The European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology was founded as a non-profit association (or association sans but lucratif) on the 3rd of October 1987 in Luxembourg. The concept of a European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology (EADV) originated a few years earlier from discussions of the Dermato-Venereological Monosection of the “Union Européenne des Médecins Spécialistes” (UEMS). The original idea had been suggested by the Danish delegation to the UEMS in 1983 at one of the UEMS Monospecialist meetings.

The vision of the EADV is to be the premier European Dermato-Venereology Society with the important aims of leading to improved quality patient carecontinuing medical education for all Dermato-Venereologists within Europe, and advocacy on behalf of the speciality and patients. The concept of membership has therefore been widened to include all areas of Europe and elsewhere, and to develop alliances and affiliations with other organisations.

In order to do this, the idea of sister societies was introduced, allowing these organisations to have full participation in EADV Congresses. Close liaisons have now developed between the EADV and UEMSESDR and European Dermatology Forum (EDF).

The Indian Association of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists (IADVL), the largest representing society of Indian Dermatologists is now enjoying its full youth. IADVL was established in its present form on 28th January, 1973. The Indian Association of Dermatologists, Venereologists and Leprologists (IADVL), the largest representing society of Indian Dermatologists was established on 28th January 1973. It is presently in its youthful days. In 1940, Bombay Association of Dermatologists and Venereologists was formed, with two more chapters, i. e. Madras and Calcutta. In 1947 the 1st Congress of Indian Dermatologists met in Bombay, which was presided over by Dr. R. V. Rajam. The 2nd All India Conference was held in 1951 at Calcutta, which was presided over by Dr. A. C. Rebello.

At this Conference, a resolution was passed to merge all the three separate chapters, i.e. Calcutta, Madras and Bombay, into one under the umbrella of ‘The Indian Association of Dermatologists and Venereologists (IADV)’.